Permission

 It never ceases to amaze me how much can be learned and deeply transformed with the simple tools of paint and paper and the practice of intuitive process painting. That’s why I’m so passionate about it, and why I love to teach it.

 

During one of my Creative Flight classes last week I witnessed another powerful example of this with a new student, before she even put paint to paper! With paintbrush in hand she looked at her paper and broke into deep, heartfelt tears. Tears are totally allowed in my studio so as I held the space for her to cry, it became clear that came from a place of being given permission – permission to truly and freely express herself, to trust herself, to not judge or be judged, to not know, to FEEL exactly how she felt in that moment – closely followed by the realization that the majority of her life wasn’t like that.

 

What kind of permission do you need in your life?

 

To play?

To be uniquely you?

To be enough?

To create?

To not be perfect?

To be a beginner?

To be bad at something, and enjoy it anyway?

To feel sad?

To feel happy?

To feel ALIVE?

To take care of yourself?

To use up your art supplies?

To honor what you create simply because you created it?

 

 

The list goes on and on.

 

And, well, PERMISSION GRANTED!

 

 

Write a comment

Comments: 11
  • #1

    Wonda Iversen (Thursday, 02 February 2017 05:17)


    Howdy would you mind letting me know which hosting company you're working with? I've loaded your blog in 3 completely different internet browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most. Can you suggest a good hosting provider at a fair price? Thanks, I appreciate it!

  • #2

    Loyd Timm (Friday, 03 February 2017 11:07)


    These are genuinely enormous ideas in about blogging. You have touched some nice factors here. Any way keep up wrinting.

  • #3

    Jani Whitsett (Saturday, 04 February 2017 13:48)


    I know this site presents quality dependent content and additional material, is there any other web page which presents these data in quality?

  • #4

    Portia Dahlgren (Sunday, 05 February 2017 12:04)


    I think the admin of this web page is truly working hard in support of his website, since here every data is quality based material.

  • #5

    Karolyn Castellano (Sunday, 05 February 2017 22:23)


    An impressive share! I've just forwarded this onto a co-worker who has been conducting a little research on this. And he in fact ordered me dinner due to the fact that I discovered it for him... lol. So allow me to reword this.... Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending time to talk about this subject here on your site.

  • #6

    Carissa Tollett (Sunday, 05 February 2017 22:59)


    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I've really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  • #7

    Keva Fennelly (Monday, 06 February 2017 14:38)


    Wow, that's what I was searching for, what a stuff! present here at this weblog, thanks admin of this web site.

  • #8

    Helena Ferrer (Tuesday, 07 February 2017 03:49)


    It's an awesome paragraph in favor of all the internet users; they will obtain benefit from it I am sure.

  • #9

    Lilly Sterling (Tuesday, 07 February 2017 04:06)


    Hello! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing a few months of hard work due to no backup. Do you have any methods to prevent hackers?

  • #10

    Damon Trueblood (Wednesday, 08 February 2017 11:18)


    I absolutely love your website.. Very nice colors & theme. Did you develop this website yourself? Please reply back as I'm attempting to create my very own site and want to find out where you got this from or exactly what the theme is called. Thank you!

  • #11

    Connie Avans (Thursday, 09 February 2017 23:22)


    of course like your website however you have to test the spelling on quite a few of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling problems and I to find it very troublesome to inform the truth however I will certainly come again again.